Creativity Inc

ed catmull creativity inc audiobook download mp3Unabridged Audiobook
Written By: Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
Narrated By: Peter Altschuler
Publisher: Random House Audio
Duration: 12 Hours 55 Minutes
Book Rating: stars_4-5

audiobook_play_button2

audiobook_download_button2

 

Summary: From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business-sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Fast Company raves that Creativity, Inc. “just might be the most thoughtful management book ever.”
Read more.

User Reviews

userid_21939
Eric L.

stars_4 Really good book. I learned so much from one of the world’s top leaders in creativity and performance. Narrator was great too!

 

 

userid_20134
Annie H.

stars_4-5 Very good! Easy to listen to with a nice narration, and I thoroughly enjoyed learning about the origins of Pixar and the career of Ed Catmull.

 

 

userid_21342
Brad P.

stars_3-5 I was really sad when I finished this book…it was that good! Insightful and authentic, it’s the perfect listen for anyone in a creative field.

get access now

To claim your free Creativity Inc audiobook download, all you have to do is click the link on this page. You’ll be taken to a free registration form, where you can sign up to get a free mp3 download, mobile apps, and more!

This offer is available for a limited time only and has absolutely no cost to you, so sign up for free today!

Ed Catmull: Creativity Inc Audio Book Summary

Creativity Inc. by author Ed Catmull is a second installment to the Book Notes series. Below is a summary of what can be attained from this book.

The Big Idea

Creativity is not based on a magical process and concrete as well as repeatable steps are required to produce and create better ideas. Ed Catmull is the current president for the well-known enterprise Pixar and he is a former computer-engineer. He uses a systems-approach in order to maximize the creativity qualities in the individuals who work for him. He then showcases the way these individuals think associated to their work.

ed catmull audiobook creativity inc

Pink Highlights

He suggests in this book that a large amount of companies use a schedule that is based on a need for product that will drive the output, opposed to the strength of ideas from the front-end.
In most cases the pressures related to create and to do so in a fast manner has become a regular occurrence. This seems to decrease quality overall. In Ed Catmullís opinion deadlines create anti-creative aspects and the videos he has produced when he was placed under deadlines were usually not of the best quality.

At a first glance at the book Creativity Inc. just seems like a better version of the Creative Enterprise and Management which has become familiar to many. With the war stories that include perseverance which leads to eventual success. The book contains hard-won advice that suggests how readers can overcome obstacles related to their creativity along with a set of sound leadership principles. The first impression for many readers is that the book would be entertaining or an inspiring victory story for creative organizations.

But the book Creativity Inc., produced by Amy Wallace and Ed Catmull produced so much more. Many readers have claimed that this book is one of the top-rated books ever written in association with creative leadership and creative business.
In the last chapter named ìThoughts for Managing a Creative Cultureî includes master classes related to creative leadership. This includes how to manage failures and fears that occur in organizations as well as how to protect new ideas along with imposing specific productive limits.
Using characteristic sagacity, the author makes it very clear how the principles must be viewed as a starting-point opposed to the end product that needs to be achieved. The last words in the book are there to avoid confusing the specific process with goals. He states that it is imperative to always remember that the end goal should be associated with ìmaking the product great.î

One of the impressive parts of the book is insistence placed on linking creative work ideas to behaviors even the ones that fail. The majority of the ideas should be based on collaboration linked with fearless ideation along with tireless communication. These ideas are made compelling by Wallace and Catmull through stories of their own implementation.

The tenet related to democratic and intensive collaboration appears in this book in the belief that that anyone at Pixar is able to talk freely about their work. One of the examples he uses is the movie Toy Story that taught him about the values involved in bringing together technicians, artists and product managers.